Medication Aide Online + Lab Course
The Clarkson College Medication Aide Online + Lab course prepares students to provide routine medication by oral, inhalation, topical and instillation routes under the direct supervision of a caretaker or licensed health care professional. Common work environments for certified medication aides include nursing homes, assisted living centers, intermediate care facilities for the mentally disabled, schools, childcare settings or patient homes.
The Medication Aide Online + Lab course provides more than 40 hours of instruction and hands-on clinical skills practice related to the competencies set forth by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services required for medication administration. For more information, view the Medication Aide Online + Lab course syllabus.
The course prerequisites are as follows:
- Able to read, speak and write English.
- Competent in basic mathematics skills.
- High school diploma or successful completion of the general educational development (GED) test.
- 18 years of age or older.
Applicants should be aware of the eligibility requirements for taking the state medication aide written examination and employment. Persons with a criminal record, substance abuse problems or health problems that would interfere with safe practices may be ineligible for state testing and/or employment. If your are involved in an open court case, you should not register for the course until the case is resolved. This includes misdemeanor traffic citations or anything requiring a court appearance.
It is highly recommended that individuals complete a nurse aide course prior to starting the Medication Aide course
The theory portion of the medication aide course is provided online over a period of 28 days. There are three mandatory scheduled in-person lab sessions that occur once per week on the Clarkson College campus.
Students must complete reading assignments, log on to the online course, participate in class discussion boards and complete written assignments and tests on time.
Requirements for Successful Completion
- Students must actively participate in a minimum of 40 hours online in the Medication Aide Online + Lab Course. This includes reading, reviewing lectures, discussion posts, quizzes and tests.
- A grade of 80% or better is required to pass the course.
- Students must attend three mandatory lab sessions and pass a skills check during each sessions.
- A grade of 80% or better on the competency assessment written test is required to pass.
"Mosby’s Textbook for Medication Assistants, by Sheila A. Sorrentino", is the required textbook. ISBN: 9780323046879. Textbook is available from a variety of sources both online, in stores and from some public libraries. Students are required to have their own textbook prior to start of the online class.
$325 payable by cash, money order or credit card (VISA, MC, AE, Discover) at the time of registration. Make checks payable to: Clarkson College Office of Professional Development. Course fee includes:
- Course handouts and materials
- Lab sessions conducted by Medication Aide Instructor
- Medication aide competency assessment (a $35 value)
Course Completion Certificate
Students who successfully complete the course receive a certificate of completion from Clarkson College and qualify to take the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Medication Aide written examination.
All lab and competency assessment sessions are held at Clarkson College, located on 42nd and Douglas Streets in Omaha, Neb.
Cancellation Policy & Refund Information
If you cannot participate in the Medication Aide course you registered for, you must fill out a Professional Development Drop/Cancellation form. Paperwork must be completed, signed and returned to the Professional Development office before you can officially drop the course. You will be responsible for paying the course fee if you do not drop/cancel within the cancellation guidelines. The drop/cancellation refund schedule is as follows:
- Drop/Cancellation form received five or more business days prior to the class start date will receive a refund minus a 10 percent withdrawal fee.
- Drop/Cancellation form received four or less business days prior to the class start date will receive no refund.
- A refund is not provided nor is a transfer allowed for failure to participate or not meeting course completion requirements.
- All refunds will be sent to the payee address on file within 60 days.
- If course fee was paid with a credit card, a refund is issued to the same credit card.
Third Party Payments
Students receiving aid from a third party source (i.e. Workforce Development, Vocational Rehabilitation, etc.) are responsible for all tuition and late fees if payment is not made by the third party for whatever reason.